Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. What are reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The current administrations are focusing more on general transportation rather than constructing new roads.Because of increased demand. in my opinion, it is a good development because, as the sum of individuals using public travel increases, the total of other vehicles is expected to reduce on the roads. As a result, traffic will be reduced eventually benefitting the environment. Firstly, as the proportion of people depending on public facilities increases, public transport is becoming more tedious, because of the huge rush. It is a common site in metros and public buses that persons are piled up on each other during the journey. As a result, accidents are also being reported. In India, it is regular that mishaps occur during crowded public journeys. This is the reason the administration is investing more in trains and buses. so that their citizens can travel in comfort.In India, a large amount of electric buses and trains have been introduced recently Furthermore, this increase in public travel reduces the amount of cars on the road. This decline in vehicles on the roads will help in reducing the traffic blocks which are very common in almost all major towns. This reduction in traffic eventually reduces the pollution created by automobiles. Therefore, the environment will benefit in the long run. To conclude, the administration's investment in public transportation currently, due to the increased demand, is a positive development. Because it reduces the traffic blocks on the roads and eventually benefits the environment