Nowadays a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, individuals are likely to choose an alternative form of medicine, such as Chinese herbs, to cure themselves instead of going to the hospital. From my perspective, it is a negative mindset towards different methods of healing because some diseases cannot be cured only by using traditional treatments. In this essay, I will analyse both propositions and express my opinion. There are two reasons to support my point of view that using alternative medicine is not the best way to solve health problems. Firstly, in a dangerous disease like cancer, there is a lot of modern technology required, such as chemotherapy, to kill the cancer cell. So, if the patient selects to use the other way of healing, it will not be effective. Secondly, some alternative medicines are quite dangerous. For example, using an unknown chemical (a steroid) without research support to consume because they believe that it will help decrease the painful symptoms Nonetheless, some alternative medicine decisions are supported by medical journals. For instance, there are some extracts from herbs that can use as medical substances. Furthermore, these types of medicines have been used as a treatment for a thousand years, as shown in some ancient evidence. Consequently, in some harmless cases, alternative ways of medicine are suitable for curing. In conclusion, my opinion is that the utilisation of alternative medicine is not exceptionally advised, particularly for certain symptoms. Specifically in hazardous circumstances that call for advanced levels of care and a cutting-edge strategy for medical treatment.