Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, a majority of criminals continue acting against the law even after being punished. This happens because of several reasons. The essay below will discuss the causes of this and suggest how such issues can be dealt with. To begin with, some family members do not accept someone who has been jailed. This means their home cannot accommodate such a person. Therefore, instead of being homeless, the convict may decide to be involved in doing crime so that he goes back to prison where they can be given food for free and a place to sleep. Moreso, some offenders commit more crimes after jail because of a lack of jobs. Starting life after prison is tough for a lot of people because of the prejudice they face in the community. Some companies avoid employing jail convicts because of trust issues. For example, a 2012 study in Zambia by Leo showed that more than 87 per cent of convicts said they faced discrimination everywhere they went and most individuals feared them. So, going back to the cells was better than the treatment they got from society. To reduce such cases, it would be best for the government and prisons to offer counselling to the family members before releasing the jailbird. This would help acceptance phase to be easy. Moreover, educating the community and companies about jail convicts would be the best. For example, in Hong Kong, people who come out of prison are treated humanely and some get employed without struggles because once in a while the community is educated about prisoners. To conclude, many people go back to jail after committing another crime because of the treatment they get from all spheres of life and their lack of jobs. To deal with this problem, the government must educate society to be friendly to those who have been prisoned and families must get counselling. These and more issues are discussed in the essay above.