In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Many people in some countries choose to own a home rather than renting. They believe that property is part of an investment because the land price is getting higher. Thus, they can make a profit if they sell their lands. I think this is a negative situation since the land price is already bubbling and house development is bad for the environment. In the past, some people believe that having properties is lucrative. However, recently, the citizen’s willingness to buy property has been lower than before. It happens because the price of land is beyond citizen’s abilities. Moreover, citizens also have to think about additional expenses, such as administration fees and taxes. To illustrate, Jakarta, which is one of the megapolitan cities in Indonesia, has minimum prices for property taxes. These costs are more expensive than in other regions. Therefore, many elderly citizens, who is already pension, sell their lands and move to suburban areas, for instance, Tangerang. On the other hand, deforestation occurs because of house development. Many developers build properties in the forest. This circumstance affects wildlife, such as animals and plants. To illustrate, Papua, which is the largest island in Indonesia, has lost many extinct animals, for instance, Burung Kasuari. This condition happens because trees and plants inside forests, which are the habitat of wild animals, have been cut down by many developers. Their purpose is to create many houses that can be sold to the citizens. They don’t think about how their work will impact the environment, especially nature living. To sum up, people tend to own houses rather than rent because properties can be their investment. Meanwhile, this circumstance results in negative situations, for instance, rising land price and bad environmental conditions.