Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some modern countries, food importation has been under the spotlight for a while with an ongoing debate over whether a country should be totally self-reliant on food and simply import a small amount of food. In my opinion, as a complement to the local food supply, countries are not supposed to abandon the importation of certain kinds of food. It’s perhaps true in some conditions that foodstuffs from other nations would have a detrimental impact on locals’ health. Generally speaking, in order to guarantee authentic flavour and prevent food decay after long-distance transportation, international food suppliers have to add considerable preservations and additives. As a result, local residents who consume foreign food on a daily basis would be more likely to suffer from a wide range of ailments including stomachache or slight food allergy. Additionally, if an underdeveloped country is heavily reliant upon imports of foodstuffs, its financial predicament would be greatly accentuated, and in turn, remaining little expenditure on the construction of public systems. However, it’s naturally difficult for us to get an insight into the importance of imported foods in the short period, but in the long run, we would benefit well. For example, for a country like Japan, which has rapid growth in the economy but limited agricultural lands, there is no option but to purchase food abroad. Therefore, imagine that if the country shrank or even cut off this long-lasting food supply method, its national food turnover would be impeded as the domestic agriculture industry is incapable of meeting the massive public demands for fresh food and further, the rising resentment among citizens would eventually overwhelm the national government. In conclusion, the assertion that all the food needs to be self-produced without any supplement of imported food in a country is too hasty, and we will not reap the benefits in the future. Hence, it's indeed crucial for every country to be self-reliant on food, and attach importance to importing food from different countries.