Some people think that only electric cars should be allowed on the road by 2040. To what extent do you agree?

Proponents of electric cars strongly believe that these should be the only types of cars allowed in traffic by 2040. Given the fact that I attach great importance to sustainability, I fully support this ambitious goal. Allowing only electric cars on public roads and motorways has two major advantages. Firstly, compared to traditional cars that run on fossil fuels, electric cars have a considerably lower negative impact on the natural environment. They offer a much more sustainable means of private transportation as they do not exhaust toxic fumes that greatly contribute to air pollution. Secondly, the engines of electric cars are practically silent, resulting in less noise pollution in an otherwise overwhelmingly loud world. However, one essential counterargument should also be considered. The cost of financing such a project can run into the millions. In the first place, private people would incur higher cost. These costs are not only related to the purchase of a new electric car, but also to the consumption of considerable quantities of electricity to charge the car. In addition, governments would need to invest a large amount of money into the adaptation of the country’s current infrastructure. An example of this would be the installation of multiple charging station across the entire country to cater to the increased needs of motorists. In conclusion, although both the private and public costs of only allowing electric cars on the road can be a considerable drawback, I am convinced that the proposal has tremendous benefits related to sustainability in general, and air and noise pollution in particular.