Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The subject of nuclear power has been a controversial one throughout the world. Many people believe that nuclear weapons are advantageous, while others disagree with this notion. Therefore, this essay will propound on the fact that nuclear weapons would possibly lessen the chance of war and benefit a larger population. To begin with, the most promising ARGUMENT on the positive aspect of having a nuclear weapon for a country is that it increases its confidence. It can ensure peace not only for its own citizens but also for the citizens of its neighboring countries. In other words, the knowledge that no other countries will consciously raise a war against these superpowers as they can easily destroy their enemies with the nuclear weapons boosts their morale and they can also provide shelter to the ones in need. For example, some countries, namely, US and Russia ever since the Cold War and Cuban Missile Crisis are seen maintaining peace and maintaining diplomatic relations. The only reason why this has happened is that they now have nuclear powers. The real irony is that having nuclear weapons ensures safety for millions of lives and clean energy production, rather than a destructive method to wipe out the entire life of an area, which is the real intention why it was invented. Since the first nuclear attack, many countries have acquired atomic powers, and the striking power of a nuclear weapon is far better than what was used in Japan in 1945. To conclude, though there is a significant risk of using nuclear weapons irrationally, in general, it acts as a tool to evade any major war and produce environment-friendly energy sources at present and in the future, which is advantageous for the world.