It is thought that music can bridge not only cultural gaps but also the differences in age. I strongly believe that it can bring people all over the world together, however it not a good option in terms of generation disparity. This essay will analyse several reasons to explain my idea.

Music has always had an important role in human history since prehistorical times. Throughout the years, we have seen the huge power of music in terms of gathering people together from different parts of the globe and filling the generation gap. In this essay, I will analyse this topic demonstrating how, in my opinion, songs do fulfil cultural gaps but it doesn't do the same for age differences. Firstly, I must recognise that there are a few bands or songs, that are considered timeless and strongly marked and changed the industry as Queen on Imagine by John Lennon; these examples can be seen as real anthems for a whole generation without any type of discrimination, but, even if they can still be enjoyed nowadays, they lose that cultural component of values that makes today's listeners impossible to fully understand the message of the song. Secondly, we must keep in mind that musical taste has changed and keeps changing every day, in fact, if we make teenagers listen to music coming from the seventies they would probably dislike it because songs reflect the life of the years that they are referred to; if we listen to a song from the eighties we can find the protest of a generation against those values that are considered traditional, if we go back just 10 years probably ninety-per cent of songs are about love with a very loose rithm. At the same,time we can clearly see deep changes in the process of making music, in the past authors used to play mostly traditional instruments such as the guitar or the piano; however today, thanks to the digital spread, those instruments are mostly abandoned in order to use electronic instruments and synths. To summarise, we can say that we can find very easy songs that managed to bridge cultural gaps by becoming anthems for a generation, in,addition we can also say that generation disparity is very hard to fill because of different factors such as changes in musical taste and in the musical process itself, alongside lack of those cultural values that make impossible for an old song to be enjoyed and fully understood in the modern context.