It is commonly believed that nowadays the main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that external factors such as friends, media, and pop culture greatly influence a child's development. However, some people strongly believe that family plays a major role in the life of a child. This essay will address both of these arguments. Nowadays, children spend a huge amount of time using the internet and are exposed to social media. It makes the children like to copy their favorite stars or singers in their way of speaking and action. Moreover, children ’s attitudes would also be impacted by their friends especially when children are at school and playing in groups, they are often influenced by their peers. For example, they will request to dress or eat the same as their friends. For this reason, these external causes will eventually affect children's behavior. Even so, as the family forms the core of a person since birth, some are of the opinion that parents are more likely than any other factor to influence their children. Especially since most children live with their family, it became natural for kids to grow up with their parent's morals and follow the way they were taught. In fact, there are a lot of aspects of a person’s life that are developed by their parents. For example, family rules and religious values are mainly nurtured by family. In addition, the family will eventually be the biggest factor when it comes to deciding certain decisions in children ’s lives such as school and health. In conclusion, both external causes and family play a significant role in a child’s development. However, I believe that family holds the most important element of children's lives despite pop culture, media, and friends ' influence.