Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that government expenditure on visual art is frivolous. Many believe that this money should be allocated towards public services instead. I am inclined to disagree with this statement and in this essay, we shall discuss the benefits of investing in the arts such as supporting social cohesion and bringing in more tourists. Government spending on visual arts might be seen as unnecessary for some, but it is actually crucial to encourage citizens to participate in the local art scene as it fosters creativity and a sense of belonging in individuals. For instance, a study shows areas where the local community take up art as a hobby to have lower crime rates as engaging in artistic expressions can relax the mind and calm the nervous system, thus reducing stress and inspiring creativity. In fact, spending on updating the art galleries or museums periodically can generate a lot of public interest and encourage tourism. For example, the Singapore National Art Gallery constantly have a roster of different art exhibitions on display and this attracts thousands of overseas nationalities to visit the small country over and over again because of how unique each showcase can be. With tourists spending a lot of their earnings on amenities like hotels, shopping, transport and local food, the revenue gained to offset the initial investments. In conclusion, while public services are a crucial sector that the government should spend on, it should not be at the expense of cutting back on the budget for visual arts. I support the use of taxpayer money to back the the arts as a more stable society and revenues earned from tourism resulting from this investment are worth it.