In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who are choosing to educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do the advantages of home education outweigh the disadvantages?

In certain states, the popularity of homeschooling has been increasing as there are more parents who educate their children at home as an alternative to sending them to public and private schools. Even though there are some advantages to home education, they do not compensate for all drawbacks, meaning formal education must remain a preferred choice. The reasons why homeschooling is gaining popularity in some countries are obvious. For one, security is a bigger concern in schools now than ever before, and some statistics claim that the number of cases involving kidnapping has been on the rise lately. Because of this, making children study independently at home could be looked at as a safer choice. Secondly, teachers in schools often have a problem when it comes to keeping students disciplined, and for parents, it is often, though not always, easier to monitor the activities of their children and make them study harder. In schools, it is not only education that matters. Communication is a major part which is a must in children ’s and teenagers’ lives. To be specific, studying in an actual school involves interacting with peers on a daily basis, which automatically makes it possible for young people to improve their soft skills continuously. Such an environment cannot be guaranteed in households where children and teenagers would talk to the same individuals daily. What makes this worse is that children may not even be interested in the views of their parents because of the generation gap. The curriculum is another major factor why the vast majority of people still study in schools rather than being educated at home. In other words, there is no governing body regulating the quality of education in every household. Parents who educate their children on their own could choose any materials they want, but the adequacy of these materials can be questionable. For example, parents may be mentally ill and expose their children to explicit material that includes dangerous content. However, this cannot happen in a regular school where the curriculum is fixed. In conclusion, despite some benefits to homeschooling, children worldwide must not be taught at home for reasons related to communication and the choice of subjects. By being sent to schools, the younger generation can be provided with enough communication in a dynamic setting, and effective learning with the help of a reliable curriculum.