The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget. Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system, which provides free health services for all?

According to the database of the health insurance bureau, National Health Insurance in Taiwan costs an average of 800 billion in 2022, the expenditure was rising year by year, it was in debt for continuous fifth years, and the financial gap in the past five years has reached as high as 916 billion. The government of Taiwan was considering increased health insurance fees, that was originally scheduled to increase on May 15th, 2022, but were postponed due to COVID-19. Tracing back to National health insurance which was begun on March 1st, 1995, the population who visit hospitals just only pay one-tenth of medical expenses, nevertheless the cheap, good quality and convenient service have positive benefits for the community, on the other hand, it is effective the crisis in the past 28 years. As a matter of fact, the government should take care of communities which are vulnerable groups, so this policy could support them with no need to worry about expensive fee of medical, however, most societies squandered their resources because of the low-price medical fees. I think most citizens should be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, for the purpose of decreasing the debt of the government, the medical insurance policy should be changed or amending the law after 28 years, and the whole environment was changing, the old regulation should not be used in the new generation. Personal medical insurance may cover the self-paid procedures which public insurance doesn’t pay off. Private insurance provides a better quality surgical intervention and expensive remedy. For another example, curing cancer may need to receive immunity therapy or target therapy which is expensive and some of the medications not include in national health insurance. To summarize the article, there were two sides to one thing, every choice made a different result. The advantage of a comprehensive health care system, which provides free health services for all, in order to cover everyone I think it was a useful policy, however, it must be to increase taxes on citizens, unless the situation will be worse.