The breakthroughs in medical science are by far the most significant advances in world society over the last two centuries. Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

It has been staten that the most crucial innovations throughout the past 200 years were made about medicine. Although this assumption may contain some grade of validity that will be further discussed in this essay, I would argue that medical breakthroughs come second to the social advances that were brought by technological fields. First of all, as many people would probably state it is certainly true that innovations such as vaccinations, methodologies for surgeries, and researches conducted for disease treatments have saved billions of people during the past centuries. There is also the idea implicit in the statement that both people’s present living condition and healthcare systems that should be guaranteed by governments in each country would not exist at all if not for these improvements. Great prosperity and far better social life expectancies are provided to society thanks to benefits correlated with medicine. However, the implication that medical benefits are by far the most important one may be an oversimplification. It cannot be denied that almost everything that was discovered relatively to medicine would not have happened without technology. Its role needs to be considered fundamental since it was the advantages that its innovations brought what have been helping medical science to evolve at all. Researches that have been conducted during the hundreds of year allowed doctors and scientists to find out more things that were not discovered yet thanks to new technologies that allowed them to use new instruments with lots of features that finally led them to greater results. Nowadays the most complex surgeries that exists are completely conducted by machineries roled by hyper-sophisticated algorithm, vaccines and treatments were created thanks to what new instruments showed to doctors that were never able to see. To conclude it is therefore quite wrong to suggest that medical science allowed society to encounter the most important breakthroughs without considering the role of technology instead. As a result I disagree with the proponents of initial statement.