should smoking in public places be banned? Give your views

Some people believe smoking should not be allowed in public places, I totally agree with this view since it brings many benefits to individuals and society as a whole. On the one hand, according to medical studies, tobacco smoke is a big threat to non-smokers' health. Not only can it cause breath-related diseases like cough and skin allergy, but it could also greatly increase the risk of getting cancers. Hence, providing smoking-free environments for them can largely cut down their possibility of gaining passive smoking-related illnesses and improves their health status. With respect to children, they tend to be easily influenced by behaviours they see and copy these actions. By eliminating smoking in public areas, they are less likely to learn about this bad behaviour or develop this negative habit, which guarantees their healthy development. On the other hand, with the implementation of this policy, the number of people suffering from symptoms caused by secondhand smoke would drop dramatically. Subsequently, the health system could save huge sums of money which used to be devoted to treating these patients. What is more, public facilities which are free from unpleasant cigarette smells and tobacco smoke tend to be clean and neat, visitors and tourists could gain pleasure and comfort while using them and develop a positive impression towards this place. In this way, the image of this city is improved. In conclusion, forbidding smoking in public places has a number of positive impacts on both people and society. Therefore it is necessary to put it into practice.