Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is indisputable that traffic significantly affects the environment. As a result, some people believe that increasing its price can tackle these problems. This essay firmly disagrees with this perspective, as solving traffic and pollution issues requires a host of measures rather than making the fuel expensive. One key reason for this is that the fuel price can primarily impact international trade, resulting in an increase in the cost of other products, such as electronic devices, whose production relies on fuel. This can lead to an economic disaster that negatively reflects on the world. Therefore, countries have made a global charter to set limitations for fuel costs, and they also recommended implementing severe consequences for any violator. Another point to consider is that enhancing the public transportation system can attract individuals to utilize it rather than driving their own cars, and that will lead to reducing adverse emissions. For instance, Harvard Science School has published research stating that cities that utilize public transportation like trains as their main travelling method have lower traffic congestion compared to others. This can be an effective solution to reduce the pollution levels caused by traffic. In conclusion, despite people having different viewpoints, I tend to believe that although setting a high price on fuel can decrease its use, difficulties in global trade will be caused due to this step. In addition, taking this measure alone cannot address these issues because they require considering other steps that encourage people to choose an eco-friendly option for transport rather than cars.