Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, with the evolution of technology and the internet, the youth are spending most of their daily time on their smartphones. This phenomenon is due to multiple reasons that will be elaborated on in this essay, as well as why I personally claim that this development has a negative impact on children. To begin with, there are multiple factors that drive children to spend hours on technology. One of them would be the entertainment found on social media, which makes them addicted to scrolling through the internet. To illustrate, a recent study I have read lately proves that social media platforms are designed to increase people's consumption of the content posted online, which explains why most kids cannot get off their phones. Moreover, parents offer smartphones to their kids from an early age to occupy their free time instead of motivating them to go outside. Thus, all these reasons contribute to this current phenomenon. So why do I claim that this development has a negative impact? Firstly, this development leads to addiction in most cases because children are exposed to these technological devices from an early age. Secondly, kids who spend their days on their phones are often impacted negatively regarding their studies and academic achievements, making them lazier and less motivated to study and focus. For example, a smartphone was given to my sister when she was 10 years old, which made her addicted and therefore, her school grades dropped significantly. Consequently, technology should be used prudently. To summarize, most factors leading to this serious phenomenon are provoked by adults who are unconscious of the damage it might have on the youth, and I personally envision that social media should be restricted before the age of 18 years old to limit its drawbacks.