Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Students are required to select a subject that they want to pursue during their freshman year. Recent statistics from different countries show that students who decide to select science subjects are very few. Here in this essay, I will explain the main issues that contribute to this and their consequence on society. In many high,schools the quality of teaching is very low when it comes to science -related subjects such as mathematics and physics; hence, the reason students dislike and fear pursuing science -related subjects. High schools, for financial reasons, hire unqualified teachers who don’t have experience teaching science -related subjects; they hire teachers who have a degree in an unrelated field regardless of their experience with science subjects. In consequence, students find science -related courses very hard to master and decide to switch to social science when they join college. Additionally, Jobs that involve science subjects are very unstable. It evolves quite frequently in comparison to socially science -related Jobs, hence, asks for constant research and study of the subject. Therefore, there are also students, who had a good background in mathematics and physics in high school, who change their direction when they join a college as they want a relatively stable job. The societal impact of this is very critical and requires urgent attention. The lack of scientists would leave society vulnerable to various problems such as disease and natural disasters that could be easily handled with scientific innovations. For instance, flu-like pandemics in the past used to kill large numbers of people as there were no scientific solutions and precautions taken, but now due to the advancements and innovations in science, the death toll has been reduced significantly as seen in the recent pandemic. To sum up, governments and educational institutions should work together on improving the high school teaching quality with regard to science and provide appealing bonuses to attract students to pursue science subjects at college, which will help produce scientists that will innovate solutions and save society in times of difficulties.