Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more people think advertising can improve the sales of products that customers do not need. Although this can be true to a certain extent, it is my firm belief that advertising does not have an important effect on the sales of products. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why advertising can increase sales of goods that people do not need. First, a brand can attract a lot of customers through advertising. Some people do not need some products but when they see advertising on the internet or on the road about them, they may buy them. For example, every year a lot of people queue to buy the latest iPhone, even when they already have a perfect phone that does not need replacing. Second, there are a lot of people who want to update fashion trends. Therefore, advertisements are shown over and over to make the customers pay more attention to them. As a result, more people know and may buy their products. On the other hand, I personally believe that commercials cannot improve sales of products that people do not want to buy. To begin with, there are a lot of people who do not care about advertising. The main reason is that they only buy products which they need even though commercials appear in front of them. Also, they may feel annoyed about advertisements because they are repeated many times. Moreover, there are a lot of people who have a hard life so advertising cannot convince them to buy goods that they do not need. The main reason for this is that they are really poor so they only have money for products which are necessary for their families. To illustrate this point, poor people can not buy an expensive car though commercials for the car are everywhere. In conclusion, while advertising can help brands sell more goods that people do not need, I am firmly convinced that brands cannot sell their products when customers do not want to buy them.