92.In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that in many nations, individuals live longer and this may cause issues for governments, while others would argue that an increase in the number of elderly people will benefit society. This essay would argue that although governments ' expenditure on hospitals increases, there are more job opportunities for nurses. This means that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. The primary disadvantage is that governments need to increase the amount of money spent on elderly people. This is because older people get health-related problems more easily, so they need to go to hospital more frequently. As a consequence, the government need to increase the funds that are used for public health. For example, the amount of money that the Spanish government spent on public health increased by 40% in 2021. However, I believe that this is not a significant drawback since they get back the money by increasing taxes. The main benefit of the increasing number of elderly people is that there are more job vacancies. A large number of individuals specialized in nursing and caring for elderly people will be needed because more individuals need to be attended to. This will cause a decrease in the unemployment rate, which means that fewer people need to suffer hunger and they will also have a better life. Recent research concluded that in 2022 there were around 10,000 people in Pekin who worked in jobs in which they needed to take care of elderly people, which is 20,000 more than in 2021. I think that people living for longer time benefits the society. In conclusion, although governments need to spend funds on public health, the employment rate increases, so life quality for citizens also increases, for these reasons, the benefits of people living longer far outnumber the drawbacks