Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The evolution of technology is without a doubt one of the most prominent bellwethers of the way people lead their lives nowadays. Technology has found its way to every aspect of human life such as security. However, the existence of security cameras and other tools designed to monitor people can be seen as a double-edged sword. The implementation of technology such as cell phone tracking and security cameras can be of great help for the authorities to prevent or solve crimes. For instance, the government in my country has found signs and further halted terrorist activities by examining the exchange of messages on a social media platform. Lots of other crimes have also been brought to justice due to the existence of security cameras for video proofs hold very strong power in court. Moreover, planting security cameras, especially in public places, helps people feel safer and criminals are less likely to strike when they are aware that their actions are being recorded. However, this advancement of technology also allows other people to invade others privacy. Cell phone tracking can easily be done by anyone these days, not just the authority. This exposes people to a variety of cybercrimes such as blackmailing and identity theft through the misuse of data. Acts of using technology to follow people ’s actions without any legal basis is a breach of privacy and consent. Societal trust to authorities that are responsible for such activities might be impaired due to the wrongdoings of a criminal, and people are bound to feel uncomfortable living with minimum privacy. In conclusion, though technology used to monitor people can be beneficial to heightened security, it can only be done by balancing it with respect to people ’s privacy. Consent must be respected through strong laws that prohibit usage of such technologies for vile purposes.