Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, our interpersonal relationships have been transformed by the rapid advancements in communication technology. Although this development has harmed our social life to some extent, I still believe that the benefits outweigh its adverse impact. One popular argument for technology's undesirable implications is that it impedes genuine communication as social media users tend to carefully curate an unauthentic persona. In today's world, much of our day-to-day interaction with others happens on social media. However, the rising prevalence of social media platforms, like Tik Tok and Instagram, has cultivated the culture of clout chasing, whereby individuals get fixated on their follower size and engagement statistics. Be it for vanity or commercial interest, social media users will then shape their content to please and attract attention. This often results in a persona created on their feed, not representative of who these users really are. Consequently, when we interact with our friends on social media, many may feel strong peer pressure to present a positive image of success to others. When we are not being our authentic selves online, it becomes nearly impossible to develop meaningful and true friendships. Nevertheless, I still believe there are numerous benefits we can reap from adopting modern communication technology. For example, video call applications, like Facetime, can enable people who live far apart from each other physically to meet online easily. In a way, it bridges the sometimes formidable physical distance between people and communities. Consequently, this creates new opportunities such as online events over zoom to bring people sharing similar interests or missions together. Therefore, our social network and relationships can be strengthened by the usage of certain communication technology. Considering both sides of the argument, I do agree with the opinion that our interpersonal relationships have suffered from some negative impacts of contemporary communication technology. After all, any type of technology is ultimately a human product and the power to make the positive outshine the negative lies with the users themselves.