In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. What are the reasons for this trend? And what possible solutions could reduce this issue?

It is undeniable that offences committed by young adults are on the rise in our societies. Society as a whole could be blamed for this vice being experienced. This essay will seek to discuss provide possible solution for this issue. Firstly, I believe society as a whole plays a crucial role on how children are brought up. And, seeing such issues of crimes propagated by teenagers reflect badly on us as a whole. That being said, the rise of crimes associated with teens, could be due to idleness, most teens do not have any activities lined up to do after school or on holidays, it's important for both parents and school teachers provide after school activities such as sports, clubs which will keep them busy and at the same time instill some skills and help them build character. Also, family conflict has contributed greatly to spike in crimes amongst teens. According to National guidance and counseling for young adults, 40% of children from divorced or broken family background engage themselves in one form of crime. This could be due to lack of support and also lack of any role models for these teens and thus engage in such vices as a form of cry for help. Although, technology has been hailed to have improved our lifestyles, it has also been reported to have a negative influence on these young impressionable individuals, who are easily swayed by what they see on video games and also on movies and are willing to act out what they see. To sum it up, introducing crime prevention programs in schools, guidance and counseling and offering good role models will go a long way in curving crime.