It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

As long as we are living in this world, It is inevitable that we will be in a situation where we have to take risks both in our professional endeavours and personal lives. Some people might fear taking risks saying its drawbacks outweighs its advantages. Here, I will explain why this is not usually the case as long as the risks are calculated. Taking risks is one element on the route to success. Without taking risks that happen in both professional and personal lives, it is unlikely, if not impossible, to achieve things and reach a certain destination one aspires to reach. For instance, entrepreneurs have to dedicate their time and be initial investors in their company to build a prototype before they can reach investors and enter the market. Without taking this risk, there is no way that they will see the outcome of their invention. Similarly, an adult has to take risks of less free time and some family costs when he/she decides to get married. Furthermore, taking risks is usually rewarded afterwards. Entrepreneurs will see their product get to flourish in the market and Married adults will have babies. With regard to the disadvantages of risks, the main drawback that people usually fear is failure. Admittedly, if the risk is something that can cost a life, it might be better not to take it. Nevertheless, failure is not always a bad thing that people shy away from risks. For instance, Thomas Edison failed about more than 2700 times to see the electric bulb lights. Had he stopped at the first failure, He wouldn’t have learned from his mistakes and seen the outcome. Hence, people shouldn’t run away from risks because of failure. To sum up, provided that risk is calculated to ensure it will not involve life costs and will not cast major harm, it is always advantageous taking it.