The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays more and more people are facing the problem of obesity which leads to a higher risk of getting serious diseases. There are several reasons for it starting from a lack of physical activity and ending up with unhealthy diets. In the essay, I will pay more attention to the main reasons and also suggest some solutions. In the distant past, almost everyone used to lead an active way of life with a countless amount of work outdoors, and in most cases being obese only meant that you are genetically predisposed to being overweight. But in the modern world, obesity is a consequence of many other factors and tendencies. Firstly, people have more indoor jobs than ever. A person doesn’t have to work in a field anymore, just to sit in front of a computer. This situation got even worse during the lockdown as all companies started to work remotely and the number of people with weight problems grew rapidly. Secondly, today’s world is a place of endless consumption, nobody in developed countries has to worry about a food shortage, which leads to a greater variety of products than mankind has ever imagined before. Lastly, technologies, such as motorised vehicles, computers and phones, have completely corrupted our way of life. For instance, most people use delivery services instead of walking to the supermarket and prefer to have fast food takeaway instead of taking time to cook a healthy proper meal. As a result, it’s harder and harder to stay strong and healthy. However, there are solutions to such a problem. In order to be healthy, a person should be self-organised, responsible and conscious about his body. Regular training at home or in a gym, a healthy diet and a schedule can completely change a person’s life. But, it is also necessary to teach the population about being healthy on a bigger scale, the government should organize a simple and clear program that can provide citizens with the right information. In conclusion, today’s reality is making it surprisingly harder to stay fit and healthy, which leads to more and more problems connected to obesity. But only a person’s dedication and desire to be better can solve it.