Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skill and imagination than reading. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children attain various skills and knowledge as they experience different activities in life. While reading is often recommended to expand their imagination by many educationalists, some people believe that other exciting activities are more effective for their education. I generally support the latter view for the following reasons. On one hand, as the benefits of reading are widely recognized, it is undeniable that children who excel at reading are more imaginative than those who do not. In other words, by encountering diverse stories from fantasy to history, children gain more accumulating knowledge about the world. As a result, a combination of one story with another allows them to create their original story because they get a lot of unique ideas from the reading materials. Therefore, there are higher rates of employment among heavy readers especially in the current society when a flexible idea is more welcomed to meet with changing demands of people. On the other hand, in spite of those benefits mentioned above, participation in fun activities develops more practical skills in children. For example, children learn to understand changing emotional feelings of a certain character as they act out in the play. This is very effective for them to express their ideas and feelings to the audience. Furthermore, they are not only encouraged to memorize phrases but pay more attention to slight changes in facial expression, tone of voice, and gestures. Children having such experience are more successful in modern society when presentation skills are highly demanded to share different opinions. In conclusion, reading promotes the imagination skills and the creative minds of children. However, they are expected to gain more essential abilities in communication due to their positive participation in play and other fun activities