Today people live longer after retiring from work. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done?

The death rate of elderly people has declined and as a result they live longer than before. The main problems this causes for people and the community leads to an increase in taxes and an extra burden on healthcare systems; however, financial contributions by employers and increasing retirement age are the viable solutions to this problem. One of the issues people face due to the elderly is that it puts an extra burden on taxpayers. This is because individuals have to make financial contributions to sustain elderly people as they require financial assistance from governments to sustain themselves. Therefore, this impacts the economy of a country when taxes are raised. In India, for instance, a larger proportion of the government fund is allocated to pensions, and this has a huge impact on the economy. The second issue is that it leads to strain on the healthcare system. This is to say, elderly people are more vulnerable to diseases,and, as a result, states need to build hospitals, hire extra staff, and upgrade hospital equipment to accommodate more old people in the structure. However, these problems can be addressed by authorities to make it mandatory for employers to contribute to the employee's fund scheme, which would help them to use that money in their later lives. Another solution is for public figures to raise the retirement age. To explain, as the elderly are living longer, they still have the energy to perform certain tasks in a company. This would not only help states but also it also enables the elderly to support themselves by working part-time in a company. In India, for example, there are quite a large number of elderly people who work part-time as per their wish and contribute to the economy. In conclusion, the main problems of the elderly who live longer are that it results in extra pressure on people and healthcare departments, and contribution of workers to remuneration packages and increased retirement age are the effective solutions.