Nowadays, most large companies operate multi-nationally. To what extent those companies should have responsibility towards local communities in which they operate? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are many companies that include various nationalities and run worldwide. Those kinds of international companies seem less likely to be involved with local communities. In my opinion, those companies should get along with local communities by making employment and making communities financially develop. The governments in different countries are struggling to create job opportunities for civilians to develop economics in the area. Thus, such huge international companies should help local communities by cooperating with the local governments. For instance, in the countryside village of Japan, local people make their living by agriculture and their wedge is not enough to live comfortably. One day, an international company decided to build a factory and they offer employment to the youngsters of the village. As a result, the village dramatically developed and people's quality of life improved. It is difficult for international companies to have responsibility for local communities because they exist not only for the local communities but also for their customer all around the world. Too much involvement in the local would be a great cost for them. However, helping local communities in some way would be great to keep their reputation better. Additionally, most international companies are requested to have a social responsibility, called CSR. Therefore, it is one way to express their responsibility to give job opportunities to locals. In conclusion, multinational companies need to have a responsibility to local communities. There are several ways, but providing job opportunities and helping the locals to develop economically would be one of the effective measures. It is important for companies to find the best way to get involved with the locals.