A serious problem affecting people right across the globe is lack of water for drinking, washing and other household purpose. Why do many countries face water shortage, and what could be done to solve the issue?

One of the most horrible problems among almost all countries is the lack of water. So, its utilisation is becoming more and more problematic now. The main reasons of this shortage are: agriculture, overusing and contamination of environment. This essay will discuss reasons and give possible solutions to solve the current issue. To begin, the first and foremost reason for that is contamination of H2O resources, which occurs via throwing garbage such as plastic bottles and used packages which can be barely dissolved. It is known by many people that most factories have directed their waste into water making it impossible to use. Furthermore, running a very long shower, using washing machine too regularly or leaving the tap running when brushing your teeth are all examples of how easy it is to waste this valuable resource. Besides this, agriculture also demands a large amount of water. Many countries that are much drier and have lower aqua resources, cultivate crops that need high quantities of water. Consequently, the groundwater supplies are extracted out of measure. To explain, rice, which is used in many dishes, consumes about 4000-5000 litres of water per kilogramm of grain produced. Following this we can say that, it also leads to a deficiency of water. To tackle this problem there are two possible solutions: increasing tax on this natural resource and cultivating crops that need low quantity of water along with growing more trees. Firstly, the government need to make drinking water expensive, so people will use it in a more thrifty way, being afraid of losing extra money. To cite an example, Germany where price for clean water is very high and this is the first reason why people utilise it carefully. Moreover, stastics showed that H20 supplies in Switzerland became more stable after they limited white rice production and focused on cultivating buckwheat, since it takes four times less water to grow. To sum up, the water shortage is an acute problem, and the main reason for that are overuse and contamination, which can be solved by establishing higher taxes on water, and implementing new agriculture policies.