Some people believe that allowing children to make decisions on every day choices such as food, clothes, entertainment will result in a society of individuals who think only of themselves, others are of the opinion that decision should be made about issues which affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children are the future of society. Whereas, there are a group of people who believe, that allowing kids to make decisions on individual preferences of daily needs will subsequently, result in a self-centred community structure while, others are of the opinion that decisions should be made, by more well-informed individuals for the sake of greater good. I am in opinion largely in favour of the latter and in my essay, shall discuss both viewpoints with relevant examples. Firstly, today is the era of consumer choices, and if everybody can exercise the right to choose, why deny children? They may have their own likings and dislikings apart from others and one must learn to respect the same. In, turn, they will additionally REPLACE THE WORD add The word additionally doesn’t seem to fit this context. Consider replacing it with a different one. show examples, learn to appreciate the tastes of the other. It is rightly said, "Freedom bestows freedom". For,example, my son may not like to see a movie of my choice, which would be a cartoon film and may opt for a sci-fi film. Secondly, learning to make choices early in life helps in determining future desires and traits. To exemplify, psychologists, deliberate that young people who can make definite choices have a more probability of success in life. Thus, we can state the benefits are varied from learning to making the right outcome to tolerating different opinions and tastes which are critical. On the contrary, it can be said that due to, age, scions may not be the best judge of their needs and can make a wrong selection. Consumerism can concurrently affect societal goals while, indulging in things which their parents can ill afford. This, will lead them to be more demanding and egoistic. To illustrate, advertisements may lure a child to get costly branded clothes, whereas, in, reality it is more of an emotional choice than a rational decision. Furthermore, allowing them to make judgements at a tender age may concurrently, influence their mental development in a wrong way. For instance, research reveals, doing everything as per the wish of a kid can lead to him being a spoilt brat and a psychic patient in future. Therefore, multiple outcomes arising out of unsound judgement, the creation of more ego, being pawns to commercials and the risk of spoiling a child are of considerate importance. To summarise, while, it is important to allow kids, at times, to make a determination on their needs and inclination but always, it should not be the norm. For sake of the greater good of society and to avoid making them too self-oriented, such, options should be taken by people who have their best interests in mind.