Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Giving children the right to make their own decisions on some related matters in their life is always considered to be a controversial issue that draws great attention from a multitude of parents. Although many people argue that allowing children to make their own decisions may lead to selfish thoughts, I still support parents to do so because it can provide a lot of influential benefits. On the one hand, many parents, who always want to control their children to prevent from selfish thoughts of them, have some salient reasons. To begin with, they convict that children are too young and not mature enough to make a rational decision. At an early age, children are thought to lack not only experience but also knowledge about many issues. As a result, children cannot have a comprehensive perspective to make a reasonable decision, which sometimes leads to unpredicted outcomes that even children are not aware of. However, this problem can be clearly tackled if parents have appropriate supervision of their children. On the other hand, other people prefer letting children make their own decisions based on a combination of reasons. First and foremost, this method helps improve independence from an early age. Specifically, it is apparent that in order to make decisions, children need to think by themselves, as well as learn how to take responsibility for their actions, which are all beneficial for the development of children in the long term. Moreover, it is said that children can develop their critical thinking abilities and problem-solving skills. To be more specific, in order to have enough basis to make a rational decision, children will gradually have a routine of thinking thoroughly about both sides of an issue. This can significantly strengthen their logic, which is an irreplaceable part of their whole life. The aforementioned benefits can clearly demonstrate reasons why I support this idea. In conclusion, despite some underlying drawbacks, it can still be acceptable that parents should allow children to make their own decisions because it significantly helps increase independence as well as critical thinking and problem-solving skills.