Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes?

A large number of residents in some areas believe that international travel has some negative impacts on their nations. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and offer possible solutions to the problem. There are a number of reasons why inhabitants hold a strong belief that the flow of foreign tourists has some detrimental effects on their countries. Firstly, it is undeniable that holidaymakers are destroying local attractions. A good example of this is Mount Everest in Nepal. It is reported that the tracks that lead tourists to the top of the mountain are covered with faeces and garbage. This way, local people lack the interest to welcome newcomers as the site is being ruined. Secondly, high traffic of international visitors might result in higher crime rates. For instance, Thailand is well-known for red-light districts where tourists come to unwind after a stressful week. However, these areas are full of bars and clubs, which provide sensitive services including erotic massage. Hence, this will lead to a higher rate of prostitution and distort the image of this nation. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the mentioned problems. To begin with, higher penalties should be imposed on those who cause damage to public attractions. In Singapore, people have to pay approximately $1000 if they litter. Another possible solution is to strictly control the way travel agencies provide services. Specifically, there should be an agreement issued by the governments stating that no companies are allowed to use sex workers to boost their revenue. If they violate the rule, their business will be suspended. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to people’s loss of trust in tourism and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.