In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Many city planners are in favour of modularization management which relocates all shopping malls, educational institutions, office buildings and residential blocks in different areas. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this arrangement undoubtedly exceed its benefits since cities are supposed to provide essential amenities to support the citizens. It is undeniable that functional zoning will exert some positive effects. To start with, it makes the city layout easier to understand, especially for visitors. Before approaching and travelling around a certain city, visitors normally make an itinerary and strategy. If a clear city map can be referred to, they will get familiar with their destinations easily, thereby having an enjoyable experience and enjoying different places. Moreover, it can provide a better shopping experience for the public. For example, consumers can purchase goods, including food, clothes, shoes, and other commodities, without driving or walking to other districts. This one-stop shopping experience can save their time and energy. However, the shortcomings of this arrangement cannot be overlooked. Generally speaking, arranging cities by modularization management mode is inconvenient for people. Only when citizens live in communities with well-distributed supporting buildings, could their basic needs be fulfilled in a single area, which is more convenient and higher efficient. Additionally, separating residential districts with shops, schools, and offices can increase the demand for commuting, which will lead to environmental pollution. More precisely, rather than travelling in one area for work and study, all residents have to use public or private vehicles to commute to a different area which means that they use more petrol than usual. As a result, air pollution, as well as noise pollution, will be uncontrollable. In conclusion, although the centralized management method has some good sides, it will not overshadow the consequent negative repercussions. I am adamant that cities should be places where citizens can access all essential services conveniently, and city planners must consider how to build an environmentally friendly society.