Some people think that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writing can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play important roles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With modern technology finding its way into our lives, it is common these days for people to read on electronic devices such as a tablet or a laptop. Because of that, some people argue that paperback is no longer needed as e- books are much easier to save. However, others claim that physical books are still necessary. In this essay, I will go over both views and explain why I feel that traditional books still play important roles. To begin with, those who think paperback books are not necessary argue that electronic books bring significant convenience due to the simplicity of storing them. For instance, a single device such as an iPad can store hundreds of files. This not only makes it possible to carry multiple books simultaneously but also provides access to them anytime and anywhere. Apart from the convenience e- books have brought, they are also more environmentally friendly compared to traditional books. Whenever a book is used and thrown away, waste is created. Therefore, if more people choose to read on digital devices, fewer books may be printed and thus less waste is generated. Despite the fact benefits that e- books have certain advantages, physical books have their specific advantages. To illustrate, if one wants to take notes or go to a page quickly, it is much easier to do it with a printed book. On top of that, many people just like to have tactile interaction with their books. Therefore, physical books are preferred by quite a few people. To my way of thinking, electronic and physical books should coexist. Each category has its own irreplaceable merits which complement the other. Hence, it is better to use both depending on the occasion. For example, choose the electronic option when a lot of books have to be carried and use the real books when quick notes have to be made. In conclusion, both digital and printed books are necessary. We have to use them well to maximize their own advantages.