Unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, numerous high school students only focus on their schoolwork and do not try to join their community programs, such as helping the neighbourhood, participating in charity, and so on. If the voluntary program is installed in the high school and supports their students to join the unpaid service of the community, then they can learn both how society is working around and an achievement that they never felt from a lecture in a classroom. On the one hand, high academy students do not have plenty of chances to experience how society works. If the institution leads the students to join voluntary work as a mandatory part of the course, then students can earn both social experience and credits. In addition, by joining the free social services, students can search for a way that they are interested in or realize their talent, such as teaching or helping others. On the other hand, some teenagers might think participating in public work without payment is a waste of time, but I believe they can realize the worthiness of working as volunteer workers. Volunteering usually makes participants feel successful by helping others, and I believe there will be no exception for the students. Also, this kind of experience cannot be earned from either a lecture or a book; they should be on the field and work by themselves. For example, if students volunteer for teaching sports to children, they can feel hardness; but the result will be visualized. They can feel achievement by seeing children’s skill improvement. To summarise, I agree to add a voluntary program as a mandatory course in high school. Joining unpaid public services is one of the most important experiences for humans, especially teenagers who do not know the outside of their association. To feel some achievements and get some ideas for their future jobs or interests, the school should strongly recommend their students to try to be involved in the free society works. As I mentioned previously, teenagers can learn the emotion of achievement and worthiness of participating in unpaid public service if the school support them to join community work even without the payment.