many people buy things they do not need to replace old ones. is it a good thing?

It has been witnessed that these days people have been acquiring a larger quantity of house appliances whether it is televisions or microwaves. I partly agree that this upward tendency is beneficial, although I think that there are some drawbacks to take into consideration related to this type of acquisition. Focusing firstly on the advantages of getting these trendy devices, I believe that they brought to people´s lives more comfortable. This is because nowadays people are frequently confronted with long hours at work and a more stressful life, these goods, for instance, have been helping us to relax while watching a movie or to get the food ready in twenty minutes if we use the microwave. If these appliances did not belong to this modern way of life, we would feel more stressed and tired after a long journey at work. Nevertheless, from my point of view it is important to consider some negatives that such household goods may present. In the first instance, spending much time watching television after a day at work, might divert the attention that should be given to the family. If parents do not spend their spare time doing activities with their children, over time the family could become disjointed and fragmented. Furthermore, as microwave ovens issue waves that are pernicious to people´s health, in a long-term approach its use could result in a soaring number of cancer or other diseases. In summary, whereas I agree that today people´s lives are far more comfortable and relaxed than it was in the past owing to these format of devices, I am also a vehement supporter that it might bring some detrimental consequences related to people´s health and social relationships in the future.