In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Since teenagers, society encourages youngsters to work harder to reach their goals. Motivations are good for adolescents to make their future bright. Inevitably, this advice could bring advantages and disadvantages to the life of youngsters. This essay will consider psychological development on the one hand and social bond depletion on the other hand. To begin with, trying to work harder to get achievements would enhance the child's positive thoughts and confidence towards the target he working for. Therefore, it increases teenagers' emotional intelligence since they will be patient in their daily routines. For example, someone, who is having an intelligent mind, but does not work hard will start hard working and adjust routines to gain the best from their dedication. This proves that the encouragement, directions and advice provided by society would be beneficial for adolescents to grow up and improve their life. Nevertheless, some teenagers have not realised that this advice and motivations are for their own good and this will lead to the breakage of bonds among society members. Additionally, they are not aware that their dedication would boomerang as their achievements. For instance, in Japan, school children had to work 12 hours daily to complete their homework due to the pressure given by teachers and parents. Sadly this leads to social isolation. To conclude, ambitiousness can bring many advantages to youngsters in improving their quality of life while too much ambition has adverse effects on social relationships at young ages. Therefore, it appears that the advantages overweigh the disadvantages.