Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days it is opined by some that classes for students should be optional while others state that it would be better to make all classes mandatory for everyone. This essay will explicate the cons and pros of both approaches and provide a logical conclusion. To commence, the liberal art educational system is becoming popular with more and more schools and universities. And the main reason is a convenience for pupils. Given the chance, they pick up only those subjects, that are relevant to the field of their study, thus, making their schedule less tight. Take medicine students as an epitome, their focus is mostly put on chemistry and biology-related studies. Hence, classes like philosophy, history and art, which are still taught in medical colleges like Borov State College in Tashkent, would only serve as a pure waste of time. However, there is a drawback to this system as well. Concentrating only on study-relevant subjects and missing out on the basics of humanitarian and technical ones would stop individuals from broadening their horizons even on an intermediate level, which can then lead to the mass development of narrow-mindedness. Alternatively, the prime advantage is, of course, systematical education, which includes both field-centred classes and those that are for general knowledge. The survey conducted at Utah State University has shown that those humans, who study in a such system, possess a higher IQ and, therefore, are better problem solvers when it comes to life situations. Yet, the disadvantage also takes place here - more time-consuming. Including other subjects, for sure, will take more time and a tight schedule, leaving a plethora of deadlines, pressure and stressful exams. As a result, the human body experiences two times more stress and exacerbates the overall condition - both physical and mental. To conclude, despite an acute drawback mentioned of the latter approach, I support the requirement to take all the subjects like everyone else, since it greatly contributes to our intelligence. Furthermore, stress could be overcome through better time management and special practical sessions with a school psychologist.