mandatory work in students to contribute to the community. do you agree?

There is a view that secondary school students should engage in mandatory work as a part of their syllabus in order to help the community, whether it is by helping charities or developing their neighbourhood facilities. I strongly believe that this should be implemented and this essay will highlight two reasons to support my opinion. Considering firstly the positives about turning compulsory this type of work in high school, I think that it could help the student to develop a wide range of soft skills such as team-working, leadership and empathy towards others. A good illustration of this is when someone helps a charity they can see with their own eyes the real social problems that someone faces and while there they have the privilege of helping them. If this form of help was not mandatory, they might never find the opportunity in their adulthood busy life to engage in social service and, hence, never contribute to society and never develop these vital skills. Turning the point to the community, as often the government does not have the time and the pecuniary resources to attend to all the cities´ necessities, these students could be very helpful by doing small jobs such as maintaining public parks by planting trees or cutting weeds, for instance. This could result in a well-maintained and environmental-friendly city. In contrast, if this job was optional, it is very likely that the young generation would spend more time playing games inside their houses, instead of coming outside to contribute to an attractive city to live in. In summary, I am a vehement supporter that making compulsory unpaid social work at school is extremally beneficial for both individuals and society as enables the former to develop social skills as well improves the cities´ conditions of life.