influence of technology in people lives. is it beneficial?

Thanks to the great technological development the world have been witnessed in the last decades, individuals are getting easily informed of what is happening in any part of the planet without leaving the comfort of their houses. While some argue that this has brought benefits to society, others can easily point out their overwhelming negative influence. Both points of view are going to be explored in this essay. In the first instance, it is widely supported that, nowadays, it is rather convenient to have access to the news from all over the world. People often argue that this quick access, most of the time just by using their phones, largely contributed to a wide perception and knowledge about not only the world´s issues, such as war or political instabilities but also what are the latest clothing trends or even the latest launched iPhone. For instance, while some argue that celebrities can sometimes offer a negative example for society through their influence, others who share their lifestyles like showing while doing exercise and eating healthy food can provide a positive influence in the media. Consequently, if we do not use the media to look up these latest trends, we could be less motivated to engage in jogging or even in eating more fruit and vegetables. Notwithstanding this advantage, media influence can equally bring some drawbacks due to the lack of control over the veracity of the news. Although some news is official and verified, others are fake or even controlled by political parties, which makes it far more difficult for individuals to have a strong opinion about a certain event. An example would be the latest news about the Ukraine-Russia war, whereas many Europeans are influenced by the Ukraine side of the war, Russian citizens are only presented with their benefits and how to support their president´s regime. As a result, if these latter would have the possibility to get informed through television, the internet or newspapers about the other side of the coin, they would have a different perspective on the conflict. In summary, at present days, although it is commonly arguable that people frequently use the internet in a negative way, there is a wide range of benefits that media has brought to our society, chief among them the instantaneously spread of the news, and consequently the knowledge.