Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It could be argued that in order to achieve (not the) gender quality, some measures have to be taken, such as accepting an equal number of both genders into universities. I entirely disagree with this proposal for some reasons as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, designating a specific count to be accepted depending on the sex, does actually oppose the principle of “the fair go”. For instance, if someone got accepted at an educational institution for just belonging to a certain classification, this could affect another person’s right to be accepted instead, if they are more competent. As a result, we will have a number of (no a) degree holders who are not competent or qualified enough; however, they managed to achieve a high educational level because of other considerations. Moreover, the notion of supporting women for the mere fact that they are women contradicts the concept and the essence of equality. Additionally, supporting females by giving such grants, in my view, may have a negative influence on them. For example, if I can get approval for enrollment on a course or take a job based on my gender, this may make me less committed to constant self-improvement. If I am having extra credit for being a female then there is no motivation to work more on my skills and compete in the market to get a job or so. Hence, productivity and quality would not meet the required standards. In conclusion, forcing the number of males and females to be even at universities or any elsewhere, may impact the chance of other people who are better candidates. Also, it may not encourage women to work more on their skills and abilities.