1.Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A few individuals argue that students should select courses related to their university degree prior to their university education, that is, during their school days. I agree with the argument, as doing so will help students identify their career interests early in life and give them additional years to sharpen their skill set. Firstly, the earlier a person starts to direct their attention to their career options the sooner they might identify their calling. Most teenagers spend a significant portion of their childhood on generic education that adds little value to their job profile when they enter the global talent pool. While subjects such as social science, science and mathematics help in identifying an individual's interest they are a far cry from the list of untapped career options available these days. For example, if a student is interested in studying architecture at the university, he should have the option to take up a module on architecture and design during his high school days to help reaffirm his interest. Secondly, early exposure to the courses can give the pupils more time to learn the skill and become experts. This is because in order to excel in any field of study, one must have spent a sizeable amount of time poring through the study material and internalising the concepts. Thus, the earlier they start, the more time they presumably have to master the subject. For instance, instead of starting to learn about dentistry at 18 when a pupil enters university, he or she can pick up a beginner's course in dentistry at secondary school. Consequently, this gives the pupil a good 4-year headstart to learning about the course. In conclusion, introducing academic courses early in a student's life brings great value both in terms of helping to identify one's calling as well as investing sufficient time to gain expertise in the subject area. Studying at a university is a long-term commitment of 4 years and for this reason, I believe that students need as much help as possible in identifying their niche before they enter their undergraduate course.