Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A healthy population is an indicator of a developing nation. Some critics state that the primary focus of the government should be reducing pollution of the environment and developing accommodation facilities as a preventive measure against sickness and disease. In this essay, I will discuss how declining the level of environmental pollution and improving living conditions endorse good health in a person. Firstly, the reduction of pollutants in the environment directly affects an individual’s health. When water pollution is significantly reduced, the community will have access to water resources which are free of toxins. Furthermore, their level of exposure to hazardous substances is greatly reduced. This is exemplified by the trials done in Sweden where they calculated the relationship between mercury particles in the rivers of a city and the number of patients reported with Alzheimer’s within a decade. They found that for every 0.2% increase in mercury levels, there was a 3% rise in the number of Alzheimer’s patients. Secondly, when proper housing with well-developed utilities is provided to the population there will be a decline in community-acquired diseases. For example, through various research, it is found that most patients diagnosed with Cholera were from underprivileged communities who lived in houses with very low standards of hygienic measures. However, when they were provided housing with proper sanitary facilities, ventilation methods and garbage disposal techniques, it was found to have a prominent decline in the number of cases reported from that area. In conclusion, much attention must be paid by the government to maintaining a nontoxic environment and advancing the quality of living. The measures will downsize the negative impact on an individual’s health and form a better-functioning community.