In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Discussing cash and wealth has normalised in recent times and people are more inclined to include their expenditures and earnings in their daily conversations. Overall, it is considered a negative trend and in this essay, I will discuss various reasons behind this notion and how it negatively impacts an individual’s life. Firstly, wealth is considered an indicator of one’s success. Many people believe that amassing wealth is the prime key to leading a successful and problem-free life. So, it is quite common for the aristocrats to proudly discuss their investments, income and expenditures to feel more confident and to have high self-esteem among their peers. However, this creates unwanted stress for those who are influenced by their lifestyle as they would spend billions just to show off their lavish lifestyle to compete with their peers rather than allocating that cash to a much more beneficial method. Secondly, discussions about how the richer obtained their wealth can influence others to do better. For example, "Steve Jobs" was considered a beacon of success by the whole world in 2020 because of his tactics for saving money and investing them at the right time. Furthermore, many kids were inspired by his “ted-talks” leading to a rise in young entrepreneurs. However, as much as this could be taken as a positive endorsement, money-driven mindsets can result in unwanted stress and anxiety which would negatively affect one’s life in the long term. In conclusion, conversations about money are becoming more prevalent in recent years. Despite the positive influences that one can obtain from these discussions, the drawbacks are quite prominent and can not be neglected.