A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

It is known all around the globe that tourism is one of the largest contributors to an economy but little is talked of the issues arising from it. Moreover, an increase in tourism leading to an increase in profits might show a lot of development but does not signify the costs behind it. To initiate with, development in tourism and more tourists travelling might sound lucrative to a country but the sustainability of these tourists has always been a tough nut to crack. Understandably, countries begin to spend massive capital on tourism hoping it would help them for years to come but are shocked when the statistics demonstrate a completely different story. Furthermore, this capital is irrecoverable and often sourced from loans from other countries leading to its own set of problems later down the line. On the contrary, tourism has consistently remained to be one of the biggest reasons behind the growth in infrastructure and provides a whole lot of job opportunities in a world where unemployment has often been a topic of concern. Evidently, appropriate management of this sector can lead to a world of good for the country's citizens as well as its economy and the profit from it can further help the nation to fund other industries in need of funds or strengthen their defence systems. To sum up, tourism can be a bit of a double-edged sword at times but decent management and utilisation of these resources can be a great benefit to any country.