Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other. Others argue that people have become more independent. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this neoteric era, more and more people are connected with each other through social media platforms. Therefore, humans hold different opinions about whether we are more dependent on each other or have become more individualistic. I would argue that as the world is becoming more developed people are less likely to be dependent on others. On the one hand, it is generally believed that there are several possible reasons why human beings feel that they are not self-sufficient. Firstly, as users of social networking websites are dramatically increasing in number, it is reasonable to say that people are more likely to get the desire for social connection and belonging which can drive the anxiety known as fear of missing out. Thus, they are not aware of being dependent on celebrities' lives on streaming platforms. Secondly, with the high cost of living, youngsters need guardians like parents in their life to ensure their food, money, and shelter. On the other hand, I believe that the developments of technology can greatly contribute to the reduction of this feeling and situation. One clear explanation is that due to these improvements, humans, in particular, the younger generation has a proclivity to work themselves online and stand on their feet to be financial freedom from their parents. Hence, it leads to being more self-supporting and escaping some difficulties as well as discomforts in their both personal life and career path. In addition, it is generally acknowledged that in this contemporary era, human beings are more caring and devote a great amount of time to themselves. In conclusion, it is true that society is dependent on each other for basic necessities and maintaining social relationships. However, I concur with the supporters of the statement that we are actually self-sustaining over the last few years.