Do the advantages of the government spending their money on college and university fees for students outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the tuition fee of undergraduates is sponsored by the authorities in several parts of the globe. From my perspective, this phenomenon is beneficial to a certain extent, and I will give my detailed explanation in the following paragraphs. It must be admitted that there are a lot of cons to this phenomenon. Firstly, the student's desire to acquire information might be thwarted. Specifically, when tuition fees are mandatory, students must work hard so that the money they invest in education is effective. However, as financial burdens no longer exist, several students are no longer afraid of losing money and lack the motivation to learn. Secondly, the government would encounter a public budget deficit when they decide to launch this scheme nationwide. To be specific, there are too many industries which are in need of investment from the state, and this makes it difficult to distribute funds for students’ tuition fees. In fact, the government’s efforts to fight to COVID-19 epidemic have consumed a large amount of the state budget and,, currently the officials still need to spend money to buy vaccines from abroad. However, the previously-mentioned views are completely inferior to the pros of this phenomenon. Firstly, allocating money to tuition fees would create favourable conditions for learners from poor backgrounds to obtain information. In the past, most parents required their kids to drop out of school because they were unable to afford tuition fees, which rendered their children uneducated and unable to escape the cycle of poverty. In modern times, with the sponsorship of the government, everyone can pursue an education without any financial pressure. Secondly, this policy would lead to several macroeconomic benefits for society. To be specific, citizens’ education level will improve, which allows them to work a higher-paying career, in turn rising the standard of living. As a result, individuals will consume more and more, which promotes economic development. In conclusion, it is undebatable that there are many disadvantages of this phenomenon, namely losing the pupils’ motivation to learn and lacking money to invest in other industries. However, I reckon that the government should spend money on education because everyone can acquire knowledge and the state is increasingly rich.