Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

In the recent years, major cities have seen an influx of people from the rural areas. Recent studies of 2021 shows, in search for a better life, year-on-year people leaving their dwellings and relocate to major cities across India. It is crucial to understand why this has happened and try to rectify the problem. This following paragraphs will focus on these issues. The major contributor to this inflow is the economic and infrastructure in-balance between the urban and rural area. As there are fewer job opportunities in the underdeveloped areas it has a direct impact on an persons livelihood. Such scenarios force people to leave their families and relocate to city in-search of better income. The study highlights, since 2001, every year there is a 53% surge of population in Bombay, India. This influx places tremendous pressure on the city’s infrastructure, health care system and also results in high cost of living. In the wake to control this exponential inflow in metropolitan like Bombay, the Maharashtra state government needs to act immediately. The local authorities need to encourage, major industrialist to set-up mega factories in the rural areas and incentivise them by allocating grants. This will not only create job opportunities, generate a source of livelihood, but also improve their standard of living. Such transition will aid infrastructures like healthcare, telecommunication and other small time business to flourish. To conclude, there are other various factors contributing to the issue. But, I believe, it needs to start somewhere. By implementing these measures the current issue can be addressed and can avoid from further declining.