In spite of technological developments in transportation, many people believe that a bicycle is the best way to reach any destination within the city. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a bicycle nowadays?

It is considered by some people tend to use bicycles as better convenient to do inner city tasks. There are some merits and demerits to using the bicycle in the city. this essay will articulate both views. To begin with the positive sides of using a bicycle within the city could be considered as to saving fuel, avoiding the heavy city traffic as well as beneficial to the health. To elaborate, There are cycle paths have been developed in many cities. people can use these paths and can avoid the traffic by using a bicycle which can be healthier for them and could save a fraction of money on fuel which contributes to saving the environment and help to reduce the traffic noise. For example, a survey conducted in Berlin by the German government found that 65% of berlin resident lean to use a bicycle to do domestic duties which assist them to have exercise and saving time and cost of health clubs. Therefore, there are multifarious advantages for those people who use a bicycle for their small jobs. Shifting towards the negative side of this trend that people could meet an accident in heavy traffic by crossing the road even though using a full harness system. which could be dangerous for a person's life. To explain, individuals might need to carry full safety harnesses before using the bicycle in the local city to reach their destinations which still could be harmful if they are hit by any high-speed vehicle. Moreover, individuals need to carry all the safety equipment with them and they are usually not any facility to lock this equipment and can go to any market. For instance, as per the news published by Europe BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) revealed that 42% of road accidents happened due to bicycle riders in 2009 and most of the cycle riders could not survive after accidents. Thus, using bicycles in the city could lead to some drawbacks. In conclusion, Although there are some disadvantages of using bicycles within the city for local domestic jobs, such as the risk of accidents and carrying out heavy safety items, there are many advantages which are best for health, saving fossil fuels and chip in to save the environment.