Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more people are seeking alternative medications and treatments these days rather than getting treated by their regular doctors. In my view this is a negative development. In this essay I am going to give reasons and support my opinion. To embark on, people nowadays are willing to take alternative therapies such as acupuncture and aromatherapy because they are dissatisfied with conventional treatments. For instance, doctors and nurses may not give enough time to the patients due to the work overload. Thus the patient ends up feeling that they have not been given enough time by the doctors. In addition to this, people are choosing alternative treatments and medicines as they feel that it helps to cure long term back pains or chronic pains and they are given enough time in such therapies. For example, research conducted in the US reveals that patients choose other therapies as they feel these treatments are exemplary in the long run. However, I feel taking alternatives is a negative development as this may harm the people because they may not know the side effects involved in these procedures. Furthermore, the alternative therapists might be unaware of the risks involved in a patient's health conditions. Moreover, conventional treatments have the potential to cure severe health problems with minimal side effects and doctors are trained to handle any emergency conditions posed by treatment. To conclude, Although alternative medicines and treatments may be satisfying, they might impact negatively on a person’s health. So a regular doctor should be preferred.