Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary world the use of plastic has grown considerably more than in the past. Plastic products like bottles, bags and packs which are used by us are harmful for the habitat. This essay will examine the damages caused by plastic to the environment and solutions to this problem. First of all, few people throw plastic waste like empty bottles, carry bags on the ground or in water bodies, while they know that plastic does not decompose for years. For instance, the plastic discarded on land does not decompose and tampers the fertility of soil that leads to infertile soil or soil pollution, resulting in environmental damage. Secondly, the plastic which enters rivers or oceans is eaten by underwater creatures which is the reason for most of the damage to the aquatic ecosystem. Thirdly, plastic when burnt, releases toxins and hazardous chemicals in the environment that causes air pollution. However, there are some possible solutions to limit the use of plastic materials. Although plastic cannot be completely banned, the government should prohibit the use of plastic bags, packages and bottles beyond the recommended levels. Moreover, a fine system should be imposed if plastic is not thrown in dustbins and if plastic is used by people and plastic packaging industries. In addition to this, the used plastic must be recycled. As individuals, we should try to use eco-friendly materials and encourage others to take steps towards using biofriendly bottles or reusable cloth bags instead of plastic bags. Furthermore, we should recycle the plastic by simply discarding them in a separate recycle bin so that the collected plastic can be recycled to reuse. In conclusion, by following the government rules for use of plastic and bringing these little changes of using reusable bags and bottles in our day to day life can reduce the deterring effects of plastic on nature.